196 Route 28. LAIBACH. From Gratz
into the Save, the line enters the valley of the former. 132 M.
Salloch. To the N.W. rise the Julian Alps; in clear weather the
Terglou is visible.
137 M. Laibach (940 ft.; "Stadt Wien; "Elephant; Hot. Lloyd,
Stem, well spoken of; "Cafe-Restaurant Casino; Cafe Kirbisch; Eu-
ropa; "Rail. Restaurant), Slav. Ljubljana, on the Laibach, the cap¬
ital of Carniola, with 30,505 inhab. (chiefly Slavs), lies in an ex¬
tensive plain enclosed by a succession of hills rising in terraces. The
town was severely injured by an earthquake in April, 1895. The old
Castle, now a prison, which commands the town, affords a superb
view, especially towards the Terglou and the Sannthal Alps. The
Cathedral, in the Italian style, is decorated with stucco mouldings
and frescoes of the 18th century. In the Rudolphinum, at the begin¬
ning of Lattermann's Allee, is the Landes-Museum, with natural
history and other collections (including lacustrine remains from
Carniola) and a picture-gallery. New Theatre. Concerts are given
at the Tonhalle of the Philharmonic Society. The Stern-Alle'e is
adorned with a bronze Bust of Marshal Radetzky.
Pleasant walk through Lattermann's Allie, an avenue with beautiful
old chestnuts, to the (3/j M.) park and chateau of Tivoli, commanding a
charming view (restaurant) and to (3/4 M.) Unter-Rosenbach (cafe), both
favourite resorts. Thence through w ood to (20 min.) Ober-Rosenbach, with
its conspicuous church, whence a fine view is obtained.
A narrow-gauge railway (48 M., in 3 hrs. 10 min.) runs to the S.E.
from Laibach via, Gross-Laschitsch and Reifnitz to Gottschee (Post), a German-
speaking town (2830 inhab.) in the Karst. Near it are the interesting Fried-
richstein Ice-Cave, made accessible in 1893, and other caverns.
From Laibach to Villach, see R. 30.
The line now traverses the marshy Laibacher Moos by means of
an embankment nearly l1-/2 M. long, and crosses the Laibach, which
already becomes navigable here, though [it issues from the moun¬
tains at Ober-Laibach, only 2i/2 M. higher up. This river is prob¬
ably identical with the Poik, which rises near stat. St. Peter (p. 197),
disappears in the cavern of Adelsberg (p. 197), re-appears at Planina
as the Unz, and after a brief career is again lost to view to the S. of
Loitsch. Such phenomena are not uncommon among the Julian Alps.
a limestone range intersecting Carniola from N.W. to S.E.
Before reaching (1511/2 M.) Franzdorf the train crosses a viaduct
borne by a double series of arches, 625 yds. in length and 126 ft.
high in the centre. It then passes Ober-Laibach and stops at (160 M.)
Loitsch (1555 it.; Post or Stadt Triest).
Quicksilver Minks of Idria, 21 M. to the N.W. of Loitsch. Diligence
twice daily in 4 hrs., If].; carriage 'there and back in 6-8 hrs., 6-8 fl.;
inspection of the mines and mining appliances, 3-4 hrs. The road leads
via Hotedersic and Godovic" and through the picturesque gorge of the Sola
to Idria (1540 ft.; "Schwarzer Adler), the largest town but one (5000 inhab.)
in Carniola, finely situated on the Idriza. The quicksilver-mines, dis¬
covered in 1497, have been worked by government since 1580 (ticket of
admission from the manager, 1 fl. 20 kr.). The ore, containing on an av¬
erage 1 per cent of quicksilver, occurs chiefly in the form of cinnabar;
rich cinnabar sometimes contains 75 per cent of the pure metal. Pure
quicksilver occurs very rarely here. The foundries at which the ore is