to Trieste. STEINBRUCK. 28. Route. 195
by the picturesqueness of its environs and its river-baths (in sum¬
mer 75-85° Fahr.). The Museum contains interesting Roman anti¬
quities. On the right bank of the Sann is the Town Park, prettily
The (7i hr.) Josefiberg (985 ft.) commands a charming view, and the
(»/t hr.) Laisberg (1545 ft.) is a still finer point. On the wooded Schloss¬
berg stands the ruin of Ober-Cilli (1350 ft. ; 1 hr.).
The Baths of Neuhaus (1160 ft.; "Curhaus), frequented chiefly by
ladies, lie IOV2M. to the N.W. of Cilli, on the spurs of the Sannthal Alps
(diligence twice daily in 2 hrs.). Thermal water (117° Fahr.), almost free
from mineral ingredients. Charming environs, and beautiful walks in
every direction, particularly to the (3/4 hr.) ruined Schlangenburg (1660 ft.),
with an extensive view.
Pleasant excursions from Cilli by Hohenegg and Schloss Sternstein to
(4 hrs.) Gonobitz, with famous vineyards; by Sternstein to (4 hrs.) Weiten-
stein; through the Sannthal to (2 hrs.) Deutschenthal, with its large pot¬
teries ; ascent of the (2 hrs.) Dostberg (2750 ft.), a fine point of view.
Excursions to the Sannthal Alps or SteinerAlpen, see Baedeker's Eastern Alps.
The train crosses the Sann twice, and enters the narrow wooded
ravine of that stream. The scenery between Cilli and Sava (see
below) is the finest on the line. Several of the hills are crowned
with churches and chapels. — 89 M. Markt-Tiiffer (930 ft.), with
the Franz-Josefs-Bad and a ruined castle.
The Franz-Josefs-Bad, prettily situated at the foot of the dolomitic
Humberg (1920 ft.), on the left bank of the Sann, possesses three warm
springs (95-102°), resembling those at Neuhaus and Romerbad. Visitors re¬
ceived at the "Curhaus (100 rooms; pleasant grounds) and at the lodging-
houses Zum Flosser, Zur Briicke, Brduhaus, Villa Stein, Rbdelhof, and others.
94 M. Romerbad (690 ft.). The baths of that name, Slav. Te-
plitza ('warm bath'; 97°), which are proved by inscriptions to have
been known to the Romans, beautifully situated on the opposite
bank of the Sann, have a good Curhaus (closed in winter), etc.
The baths are open winter and summer. Among the inns are the
"Post, at the station, and the "Alte Post, 7 min. distant, near the baths.
Beyond Ratschach, 2 M. below Steinbriick, is the chateau of Weichselstein,
rising above the Save, with a park containing rare pines (carr. from Ro¬
merbad in I1/4 hr., 5 fl.). Another excursion is through the Gramnitz-Thal
(a side-valley of the Sann, with grand dolomite rocks) to Gairach, with
its ruined monastery (12 M. from Romerbad; carr. in 2 hrs., 7 fl.).
97i/2 M. Steinbriick (^Rail. Restaurant, with rooms) is a thriv¬
ing village on the Save or Sau, which here falls into the Sann.
From Steinbruck to Agbam, 47 M., railway in 3 hrs. Stations: Lichten-
wald, Reichenburg, Videm-Gurkfeld, Rann, and Zapresii (to Warasdin and
Csakathurn, see p. 385). Agram, and thence to Sissek and Karlstadt (Fiume),
see pp. 386, 388.
The train follows the ravine of the Save, bounded by lofty lime¬
stone cliffs. 103 M. Hrastnigg; 106 M. Trifail, with one of the
largest coal-mines in Austria (yielding about 300,000 tons annu¬
ally). The coal is excavated in iarge open quarries, where the huge
seam, 65-80 ft. thick, doubled and trebled at places by dislocations,
rises in cliffs of quite imposing appearance. 109 M. Sagor, the
first place in Carniola; 114 M. Sava. The valley expands. At
(118 M.) Littai the Save is crossed. Scenery still picturesque.
122 M. Kressnitz; 127!/2 M. Laase. At the influx of the Laibach