to Le Tréport. BEAUVAIS. 3. Route. 35
a Clock of the 16th cent., which plays sacred music, and two Tapestries
(16th cent.), probably made at Beauvais, representing the fabulons origin
of France, from Ronsard's 'La Franciade'. Another tapestry of this séries,
one of 1460, and eight other of the 17th cent., after Raphael's cartoons,
are displayed in the transepts. In the left choir-chapel is a modem 'Astro-
nomical Clock, 39 ft. high, 19 ft. broad, and 9 ft. deep ; it is composed of
90,000 pièces, has 52 dials, and gives 80 distinct indications (apply to the
sacristan, ifr.; on Sat. & Sun. 50 c).
To the W. of the cathedral is a portion of the original church,
known as the Basse Œuvre, a Romano-Byzantine structure, referred
to the 8th or even the 6th century. It contains tapestry of the 15-
The Gateway, flanked by two towers, resembling pepper-boxes,
on the S.W. of the Place de la Cathe'drale, belongs to the Palais de
Justice, formerly the bishop's palace. It dates from the 14th cent.,
the palace itself from the 16th, though the foundations of the latter
are Gallo-Roman work, at one time forming part of the town-walls.
The fine restored Romanesque tower at the back is now parily
concealed by trees. — The ancient building, with remains of an old
Gothic cloister, behind the Basse Œuvre is now occupied by a small
Musée (open free on Sun. & holidays, 12-4, to Etrangers on other
The Musée chiefly contains Gallo-Roman antiquities, with a few paint¬
ings, natural history spécimens, and (in the cloister and garden) some inter¬
esting architectural fragments and sculptures. In the second room are a
Bearded Mercury (stèle), a richly carved wooden altar (17th cent.), several
heads of statues, wood-carvings, chests, and numerous small antiquities.
A little to the N. of the cathedral is the Bishop's Palace (1878-82),
rich in works of art.
Several quaint Old Houses are to be found in the streets near
the cathedral; e.g. in the Rue St. Laurent (Nos. 25 and 27), diverg-
ing to the W. from the Rue de l'Evêché, and in the Rue Philippe-
de-Beaumanoir and Rue St. Paul, on the other side of the church.
Farther on, adjoining a savings-bank, is a Gothic house, opposite
which is a corner-turret with a leaden figure of St. Michael, of the
Gothic period. A few yards farther on we reach the Place Ernest-
Gérard and the Théâtre, to the left from which lie the Place de l'Hôtel-
de-Ville and St. Etienne.
A good view of the town is obtained from the Square du Réservoir, a
promenade on a hill, 5-7 min. walk from the station, on the other side
of the Thérain. — About 1/t M. to the N. of the station is a large tree-
shaded space known as the Jeu de Paume, where a band plays in summer
from 3 to 4 p.m. and tennis-matches take place. The Lycée farther on ad¬
joins a hill on which once lay a Roman amphithéâtre.
The church of the suburb of Marissel, to theN.E., has a Romanesque
tower, a choir of the 12th cent., a nave and portai of the 16th, and a
magnificent wooden. altar-piece of the same date.
From Beauvais to Gournay (Dieppe), 18 M., railway in 50 min. (fares
3 fr. 35, 2 fr. 25, 1 fr. 50 c). This route ascends the Vallée de Bray
(p. 46). - 13'/2 M. St. Germer. The village (Hôtel), l'A M. to the S.W.,
bas an interesting Abbey Church, in the Transition style, partly rebuilt at
a later date. The 'Sainte Chapelle, a reduced copy of the magnificent
Sainte Chapelle at Paris, was added to the E. end in the 13th century. —
18 M. Gournay, see p. 46.