Halle au Pain. BRUSSELS. I'J. Route. 9o
were all intended to receive statuettes, or were in some cases meant
to be purely decorative; at all events the central story of the S.
wing and the tower now seem overladen by the multitude of mo¬
dern statues of Dukes of Brabant with which they have been adorn¬
ed. The open spire, which was damaged by lightning in 1863, ter¬
minates in a gilded metal figure of the Archangel Michael, which
serves as a vane, 16 ft. in height, but apparently of much smaller
dimensions when seen from below. It was executed by Martin run
Rode in 1454. The back of the Hotel de Ville dates from the begin¬
ning of the 18th century. In the court are two fountains of the 18th
cent., each adorned with a river-god, that on the right by Plumiers.
The concierge (fee 1 fr.), who lives in the passage at the back, shows
the Interior of the Hotel de Ville (see p. 69). The rooms and corridors
contain several pictures (Stallaerl, Death of Eberhard T'sercfaes, 1388,
a magistrate of Brussels ; Coomans, Defeat of the Huns at Chalons, 451),
and portraits of former sovereigns, among whom are Maria Theresa,
Francis II., Joseph II., Charles VI., Charles II. of Spain, etc.; in the
following passage, the Emperor Charles V., Philip III. of Spafn, Philip IV.,
Archduke Albert and his consort Isabella, Charles II. of Spain, and Phi¬
lip II. in the robe of the Golden Fleece. In the spacious Salle du Con-
seil Communal, on the first floor, Counts Egmont and Hoorn were con¬
demned to death in 1568. The present decoration of the hall, with ils
rich gilding, recalling the palace of the Doges at Venice, dates from the
end of the 17th century. The ceiling-painting, representing the gods in
Olympus, is by Victor Janssens. The same artist designed the tapestry on
the walls, of which the subjects are the Abdication of Charles V., the Coro¬
nation of Emp. Charles VI. at Aix-la-Chapelle, and the 'joyeuse entree'
of Philippe le Bon of Burgundy, i.e., the conclusion of the contract of
government between the sovereign, the clergy, the nobility, and the
people. On an adjacent table, in a chased and gilded copper salver, are
the keys of the city, which were presented to the regent on that oc¬
casion. — The adjoining rooms are hung with tapestry from designs by
Lebrun and Van der Borght, representing the history of Clovis and Clo-
tilde. — The large Banquet Hall, 65 yds. long and 27 yds. wide, re¬
cently decorated with beautiful Gothic carved oak, from designs by Ja-
maer, also deserves notice. The tapestry, representing the guilds in char¬
acteristic figures, was executed at Malines from designs by W. Geets. —
The Salle d'Attente contains views of oid Brussefs, before the con¬
struction of the present new and spacious streets (pp. 96, 98), by J. B.
van Moer, 1873. — The Salle des Mariages is lined with oaken panelling
and adorned with allegorical frescoes. — The Staircase is adorned with
two pictures by Em.Wauters: John III., Duke of Brabant, resigning to the
guilds of Brussels the right of electing the burgomaster (1421), and Mary
of Burgundy swearing to respect the privileges of the city of Brussels (1477).
The Tower (key kept by the concierge; 1 fr. for 1 pers., 50 c. each
for a party) commands an admirable survey of the city and environs.
To the S. the Lion Monument on the Field of Waterloo is distinctly visible
in clear weather. The best hour for the ascent is about 4 p.m.
Opposite the Hotel de Ville is the *Halle au Pain (PL 35 ; D, 3),
better known as the Maison du Roi, formerly the seat of the govern¬
ment authorities. The building was erected in 1514-25, in the
transition style from the Gothic to the Renaissance, restored about
1767 in egregiously bad taste, and rebuilt in 1877-84 according to
the original plan. It is now fitted up for the municipal authorities,
and joined with the Hotel de Ville by a subterranean passage.
Counts Egmont and Hoorn passed the night previous to their exe-