to Sault-Ste-Marie. LAKE SUPERIOR. 53. Route. 373
part, with an area of about 31,500 sq. M. The mean depth is about
900 ft. The lake receives the waters of 200 streams and contains
numerous islands, chiefly near its E. and W. ends. Its coast-line (ca.
1500 M.) is irregular and generally lock-bound, some of its cliffs
and mountains being very picturesque. The water is clear and very
cold even at midsummer. Lake Superior whiteflsh (Coregonus clupei-
formis) are excellent, and other varieties of fish are also abundant.
Duluth, see p. 370. The steamer steers towards the E. and threads
its way among the picturesque Apostle Islands (ca. 25 in all), which
lie near the coast.
80 M. Bayfield (Parks Hotel, $2), a seaside-resort, connected
by railway and small steamer with Ashland (p. 372). About 50 M.
farther on Porcupine Mt. (2025 ft.) rises conspicuously, and 20 M.
beyond it lies Ontonagon. The steamers are saved the long detour
round Keweenaw Point by passing through Portage Lake (20 M. long,
'/2-2 M. wide) and the ship-canal in connection with it.
200 M. Houghton (Douglas House, $272-4), with 3359 inhab.
lies on the S. bank of Portage Lake, in a rich copper district
(comp. p. 372). It is the seat of the Michigan College of Mines.
On emerging from the Portage Entry, as this passage is named,
the steamer crosses Keweenaw Bay and steers S.E. by E., passing
Point Abbaye, the Huron Islands, Big Bay Point, and Granite Island.
280 M. Marquette, see p. 372.
About 45 M. beyond Marquette the steamer passes Grand Island
and then, if tbe weather permits, approaches as near shore as pos¬
sible to afford a view of what is considered the finest piece of scen¬
ery on the trip, the so-called *Pictured Bocks.
These rocks are a series of sandstone bluffs, 300ft. high, extending
along the shore of Lake Superior for a distance of 5 M. and worn by
frost and storm into the most fantastic and romantic forms. They owe
Uieir name to the vivid hues — red, blue, yellow, green, brown, and
gray — with which they are stained. Cascades fall over the rocks at
intervals. Among the chief points (named from W. to E.) are Miner's
Castle, Sail Rock (like a sloop in full sail), the Grand Portal, and the
Chapel. Those who wish to 'examine the Pictured Rocks satisfactorily
should disembark at Marquette, proceed thence by railway to Munising
(p. 372), and there hire a small boat. This is the heart of the Hiawatha
country, and Munising occupies the site of the 'Wigwam of Nokomis'.
About 20 M. farther on the steamer passes Point au Sable (light¬
house), 60 M. beyond which it rounds Whitefish Point (lighthouse)
and steers to the S.E. across Whitefish Bay towards the mouth of
the St. Mary's River. This river or strait, which connects Lake
Superior with Lake Huron (comp. p. 342), is about 65 M. long and
has several islands and lake-like expansions. In entering it we pass
through Waiska Bay, with Point Iroquois to the right (U. S.) and
Gros Cap to the left (Canada). The St. Mary Rapids are avoided
by a ship-canal, adjoining which lies the town of Sault-Ste-Marie,
generally pronounced 'Soo St. Mary' (see p. 374).
The old "St. Mary's or Soo Ship Canal was constructed by the State
of Michigan in 1853-55 and was 1800 yds. long, 100 ft. wide, and 12ft. deep,