466 Envir. of Borne. GENZANO.
2. Alban Mts.
the modern town, encircled by cliffs of tufa and probably of the
same volcanic origin as the neighbouring lakes (see p. 456). It was
the fifth station on the Via Appia, which runs towards Genzano on
massive and stili visible substructures, at the foot of the modern
town now occupying the site of the ancient Arx or citadel. (A circuit
of 1/2 hr. by the valley, instead of the direct route from Albano to
Ariccia, is interesting.) In the middle ages Ariccia passed to the
Savelli, and in 1661 was purchased by the Chigi, the present pro-
prietors. The domed church of Santa Maria dell'Assunzione, a
baroque structure by Bernini (1664), was restored in 1771.
The beautiful and shady road to Genzano at first leads a little
to the left and crosses three viaducts, which command fine views.
Beyond the second viaduct it passes Galloro, formerly a Jesuit
church, and, 1/2 M. farther, the Monte Pardo (view). The road
divides; the branch to the left descends to a Capuchin monastery
and to the Lake of Nemi (below is a partly antique road to Nemi);
that in the middle leads through an avenue to the (1/2 M.) Palazzo
Cesarini; and that to the right (with the tramway) descends to
21/2 M. Genzano. — Pens. Danker, Via Garibaldi 21, pens. 4-6 fr.
per day for a stay of at least ten days. — Trattoria Belvedere, with
charming view ; Ristorante Pizzotto, with view-terrace, well spoken of,
Trattoria Torti, plain, both in the Corso Vittorio Emanuele.
Genzano (1430 ft.), founded in 1235 and raised to the dignity
of a town in 1828, has 7376 inhab., who carry on a considerable
cultivation of wine. Officially known as Genzano di Roma, the
poverty -stricken place presents no attraction beyond its fine
situation, high above the S.W. bank of the Lago di Nemi. The best
view of the lake is from the garden of the Palazzo Cesarini, which
slopes rapidly towards the water (entrance to the left, opposite
the palace; admission occasionally granted on application at the
palace). — The famous Infiorata di Genzano, or flower-festivai,
formerly celebrated at Genzano on the 8th day after Corpus Christi,
no longer takes place.
The **Lago di Uemi (1045 ft.), about 31/2 M. in circumference
(area 412 acres) and about 110 ft. deep, lies in an ovai basin which
is either a crateriform subsidence or a real crater. It is drained
by an artifìcial emissarium. The water is beautifully clear, and
rarely ruffled by wind. The precipitous wooded slopes of the basin
are of tufa, streaked with lava; they are 330 ft. in height and are
carefully cultivated. In ancient times it was called the Lacus
Nemorensis, and sometimes the 'Mirror of Diana', from a tempie
(p. 467) and grove (nemus) sacred to that goddess, whence the
present name is derived. This exquisite lake, the gem of the Alban
Mts., is especially beautiful when the sun is high.