e. Palazzo del Quirinale. ROME. I. N. and E. Hills. 203
once stood in front of/the Thermae of Constantine, on the rnins of
which the Palazzo Rospigliosi (p. 204) and other edifices have been
erected. They have never been buried nor concealed from view,
and for centuries the piazza derived its name from them ('Monte
Cavallo'). The inscriptions on the pedestals, Opus Phidiae and
Opus Praxitelis, were probably first added in a restoration of the
Thermae about A.D. 450, though in their present form they date
only from the time of Sixtus V. In the middle ages these were
supposed to be the names of two philosophers, who, lfaving divined
the thoughts of Tiberius, were honoured by the erection of these
monuments in recognition of their wisdom.
The piazza commands a fine view of the town, to the W., with
the dome of St. Peter's in the background. The Via della Dataria,
reached by descending a flight of steps from the N.W. corner of the
piazza, contains (No. 94) the papal Palazzo della Dataria (comp.
p. 260), or office for ecclesiastical appointments. The choral sing-
ing of the nuns at the afternoon service (4.30-5 p.m.) in the neigh-
bouring church of Santa Croce de' Lucchesi (PI. II, 21) is at¬
tractive. The Via della Dataria is continued to the N.W. by the Via
San Vincenzo to the Fontana di Trevi (p. 184), and to the W. by
the Via dell' Umiltà to the Corso, near the Palazzo Sciarra (p. 230).
On the left, near the beginning of the Via dell' Umiltà, is the North
American College, founded in 1859 for the education of priests for
the United States. The neighbouring church of Santa Maria dell'
Umiltà belongs to this seminary.
The Regio Palazzo del Quirinale (PI. II, 21) was begun
in 1574 under Gregory XIII. and largely added to under sub-
sequent popes, who frequently occupied it in summer on account
of its lofty and healthfur situation. The originai architeets were
Flaminio Ponzio and Mascherino, among whose successors were
Dom. Fontana, Bernini, and Ferd. Fuga. Since 1870 the palace
has been the residence of the king of Italy, and during his presence
a small part only is shown to the public.
Admission, see p. 173. Permessi are issued from 10-11.30 in the
Ministero della Redi Casa (PI. II, 24), Via del Quirinale 30, first floor.
Visitors enter by the main entrance and ascend the wide staircase to
the left at the end of the vestibule. A fine fresco by Melozzo da Forlì
has been built into the wall on the landing, representing Christ in a
cloud of angels (formerly in the church of Santi Apostoli, p. 241). — At
the top of the staircase visitors write their names in a hook, and obtain an
escort (no fee). Adjacent to the Sala Regia, with frescoes by Lanfranco
and Saraceni, is the Cappella Paolina, erected by Carlo Moderna, and
decorated with gilded stucco-work and copies in grisaille of Raphael's
Apostles in Santi Vincenzo ed Anastasio alle Tre Fontane (p. 399) and
with tapestry of the 18th century. The chapel contains a large number
of wreaths and addresses sent by Italians in ali parts of the world on
the occasion of Victor Emmanuel II.'s death. — To the right lies a suite
of Drawing Rooms and Reception Rooms, adorned with pictures and
tapestry, chiefly modern. The reception-room of the ambassadors, beyond
the thronc-room, contains several portraits of sovcreigns and princes. In