226 Route 31. ABINGDON.
The Lady Chapel (1290-1328), which has been practically rebuilt, is
approached by an antechapel with a fan-vaulted roof. On the S. side of
it is the tomb of its founder, Bishop Martyn (d. 1328).
To the N. of the nave of the cathedral are the ruins of St.
Mary's College, built by Bishop Houghton (1362-89), the most pro¬
minent feature being the tall slender tower of its chapel. The space
between the college and the cathedral was occupied by a cloister
attached to the former. — To the W. of the cathedral, on the op¬
posite bank of the Alan, are the picturesque and extensive remains
of the *Episcopal Palace, built by Bishop Gower (p. 224) about
J 347. The most prominent feature is the beautiful arcaded parapet,
of which we have already seen foreshadowings at Swansea (p. 207)
and Lamphey (p. 222). The Great Hall has a fine porch and. rose-
window, and the Chapel also remains. The chief Domestic Apart¬
ments are on the E. side of the quadrangle. The whole place stands
on a series of vaulted crypts. Freeman considers it to be alto¬
gether unsurpassed by any existing English edifice of its own kind.
— The fortified Wall, enclosing the cathedral-precincts, is also
attributed to Bishop Gower, and may be traced throughout nearly
its whole extent. The only remaining gateway is mentioned at p. 224.
The Cliffs near St. David's, though not remarkable for their height,
are picturesque and varied in outline. Among the most interesting points
are St. David's Head (100 ft. above the sea), a spur of Cam Llidi, 2J/2 M.
to theN.W., cut off from the mainland by an ancient stone fortification;
the ruined Chapel of St. Non, the mother of St. David, due S. of the
city; and Capel Slinan (2 M. due W.), built by Bishop Vaughan (1509-22),
on the site of an ancient pilgrimage-chapel dedicated to St. Justinian, the
confessor of St. David. — Off the coast lies the island of Ramsey, a great
resort of woodcocks in October. To the W. lie the Bishop and his Clerks,
a group of rocks of which Fenton ('History of Pembrokeshire', p. 126),
quoting George Owen (16th cent.), says that they 'preache deadly doctrine
to their winter audience, such poor seafaring men as are forcyd thether
by tempest; onlie in one thing they are to be commended, they keepe
residence better than the rest of the canons of that see are wont to do'.
31. From London to Oxford.
a. Great Western Railway via Didcot.
63'/2 M. Railway from Paddington Station in l1/4-23/4 hrs. (fares 10s. 6d.,
6s. 8d., 5s. 3'/2d.; return 18s. 6d., lis. 8d.). This is the quickest route to
From London to (53 M.) Didcot, see R. 15. The Oxford branch
here diverges to the right from the main line of the G.W.R., tra¬
verses a fertile and pleasing district, and crosses the Thames (or
Isis) , of which many beautiful views are obtained. From (56 M.)
Culham , with a training-college for schoolmasters , a visit may be
paid to Dorchester (see p. 229). We now recross the Isis, pass
Nuneham Park (p. 228), and once more cross the river. — 5872 M.
Radley, with an interesting church.
Radley is the junction of a line to (2'/2 M.) Abingdon (Crown d- Thistle,
R.4s.6d., D.3-5s.; Queen's, R. 3s.6d., D. from 3s. Gd.), a town of 6480 inhab.,
with a busy trade in corn. Few remains are left of the Abbey, once of con-