Cathedral. BRISTOL. 15. Route. 123
whose memory is kept green by the annual 'Colston Banquets' on Nov. 13th,
now utilised for a display of political oratory. — Miiller Orphanages (cab
2s. 6d.), see p. 126.
Following St. Augustine's Parade to the S., we soon reach the
pretty, open space named College Green (PL E, 4), originally the
burial-ground of the abbey (see below); among the buildings round
it are the Cathedral, St. Augustine's Church, the Mayor's Chapel,
and the Royal Hotel. Immediately in front is a Statue of Queen
Victoria, by Boehm (1888) and farther back is a replica (1851) of
the old Bristol Cross (comp. p. 111).
The *Cathedral(Pl.E,4) was originally erected in the 12th cent.
(begun in 1142), as the church of an Augustine abbey, by Robert
Fitzhardinge, a Bristol merchant, and progenitor of the Berkeley
family. It was, however, rebuilt two centuries later, while the nave,
destroyed in the 16th cent., was rebuilt by Street in harmony with
the choir and transept in 1S68-88. The main body of the structure
is of the Dec. order, resembling in many respects the German Gothic
of the period (13-14th cent), but the Chapter House (1155-1170),
a remnant of the original church, is a fine example of late-Norman.
The Elder Lady Chapel (c. 1210; restored in 1894) is good E.E.,
and the Cloisters (incomplete) are Perpendicular. The W. front has
a deeply recessed doorway and two towers (1888). The Tower,
127 ft. high, is a Perp. addition of the 15th cent, (rebuilt in 1893).
The Cathedral is 300 ft. long, 68 ft. wide, and 56 ft. high. — The
bishopric of Bristol was founded by Henry VIII. in 1542, and re-
founded by Pope Paul IV. in 1557. From 1836 till 1897 it was link¬
ed with the diocese of Gloucester. Daily choral services at 10 and 4.
Interior. The absence of clerestory and triforium makes this church
unique among English cathedrals, the aisles being of the same height as
the nave, and the arches rising clear up to the spring of the vaulting.
The singular flying arches across the aisles, resembling timber-work, take
the place of the usual flying buttresses. The arches in the aisles of the
Nave are a clever imitation (by Street) of those in the choir, with a few
slight modifications, which do not seem to be improvements.
At the E. end of the N. aisle of the nave are an effigy of Dean Elliott
(d. 1891) and two modern brass tablets of good design. The North Transept
contains tablets to the memory of Fred. J. Fargus ('Hugh Conway'; 1847-85),
and Mary Carpenter (d. 1877), both natives of Bristol, and of Emma Marshall
(1830-99). — On the E. it is adjoined by the "Elder Lady Chapel, a pure
E.E. structure (ca. 1210), containing some grotesque carvings.
The Choir has a fine modern marble floor and a reredos erected in
1899. In the N. choir-aisle are a bust of Soulhey (p. 121), and a monu¬
ment to BIrs. Middleton, both by Bailey. In the S. aisle is a figure of
Resignation, by Chantry. The most striking feature in the Lady Chapel
is the fine Dec. East Window (a so-called Jesse window), most of the
stained glass in which dates from the beginning of the 14th cent.; the
arrangement of its tracery symbolises the Trinity. This chapel also con¬
tains some interesting monuments of the old abbots. Several of these
occupy the singular recesses in the walls, which are characteristic of this
cathedral. A tablet beside Abbot Newland's tomb, on the S. wall, points
out the grave of Bishop Butler (see below). Some of the old miserere carv¬
ings deserve attention. — At the E. end of the S. choir-aisle is the Berke¬
ley Chapel, added about 1340; it is entered by a vestibule containing
some unique work of this period (Dec). — The South Transept contains