to Bristol. BATH. 15. Route. 117
Van Dyck; Canterbury Meadows, by T. S. Cooper; Raising of Jairus's
daughter, by E. Long, etc.
Bridge St. is continued to the E. by Pulteney Bridge (PL C, 3),
with houses on both sides, a little beyond which is Argyle Chapel
(PL C, D, 3), the scene of the Rev. William Jay's (1769-1853)
labours. Great Pulteney Street goes on thence to the Sydney Gar¬
dens (PL D, 4; adm. 6d.).
The Royal Literary and Scientific Institution (PL C, 3; open
10.30-6; adm. 2d., free on Thurs.) in the North Parade, to the
S.W. of the Abbey, contains interesting Roman antiquities found
in or near Bath, natural history collections, and a library. The In¬
stitution Gardens are open to subscribers only (2s. 6d. per month).
— Farther on, in the S. Parade, is the handsome Rom. Cath. Church
of St. John (PL B, 3), with a graceful spire.
The N.W. part of the town, with the Assembly Rooms (PL D, 2)
and the characteristic 'Circus' and 'Crescent', is the residential
quarter. Many of the houses here bear tablets commemorating
famous occupants. The "Victoria Park (PL D, E, 1), including a
Botanical Garden, is a well-kept pleasure-gTonnd, 60 acres in ex¬
tent. The Holburne Museum (PLC, 1), in Charlotte St., near Queen
Square, includes a picture-gallery and collections of plate, china,
gems, etc. (open daily, 11-4, gratis).
An admirable view of the town, though somewhat circumscribed by
foliage, is obtained from (i/4 hr.) "Beechen Cliff (PI. A, 3; 390 ft. above tbe
Avon), on the S. side of the town. — Another good point of view is Sham
Castle, on the hill about l'/2 M. to the E. of the G. W. R. Station, and best
reached by Pulteney Street and the so-called North Road.
Bath is surrounded with 'Downs', softly rounded hills, the tops of
which afford charming views. The most important are Lansdown (800 ft.,
2 M. to the N.), Claverton and Coombe Down (550 ft.; 2-3 M. to the S.),
and Hampton Down (600 ft.; IV2 M. to the E.), with Sham Castle (see
above). Little Solsbury (ca. 600 ft.; 3 M. to the N.E.) is a flat-topped hill
with clearly defined earthworks. A walk or drive over Lansdown as far
as the third milestone, and thence (for walkers only) across the racecourse
to (1 M.) Prospect Stile, will afford the visitor one of the finest views in
the W. of England. On the way we pass (2 M.) Lansdown Cemetery, with
the tomb of Beckford of Fonthill (p. 105) and a tower built by him, the
top of which commands an extensive view (Bath not visible). This walk
may be lengthened by returning through North Stoke (with an ancient
church), and thence through Upton or Bitton to the railway.
About 2 M. to the S. E. of Bath, beyond Widcombe (with an old
church and manor-house), is Prior Park, now a Roman Catholic college, but
formerly the seat of Ralph Allen (d. 1764), the original of Squire Allworthy
in 'Tom Jones'. Through his building-enterprise and sturdy belief in
the good qualities of the Bath stone, Mr. Allen justly shares with Beau Nash
and the architect Wood (p. 114) the credit of creating modern Bath. Near
Prior Park is a circular tower within a triangular base, erected to com¬
memorate Bishop Warburton's publication of 'The Divine Legation of
Moses'. — The village of Claverton, in the charming Warleigh Val¬
ley, 3 M. to the E., is best reached by train to Bathampton (p. 113) or
Limpley Stoke (p. 111). — Farleigh Cas'le, reduced to a ruin in the Parlia¬
mentary Wars, lies 7 M. to the E. and may be reached by train to Fresh-
ford and thence by a field-path (2 M.). — The old manor-houses of
South Wraxall and Chadfield (near Box, p. 113), in the Tudor style, are
also worth a visit. — The church and manor-house of St. Catherine's
(5 M. to the N. E., beyond Batheaston), in a pretty valley, both date