154 Route Hi. AMALFI. Environs
the 12 Apostles and a Madonna of more recent date. The campanile, with
its 4 stories, was erected in 1276.
The * Capuchin Monastery, founded in 1212 by Cardinal Pietro
Capuano for monks of the Cistercian order, is situated 1/4 hr.
walk from the town, to the W. , built into a hollow of the rock,
400 ft. above the sea. From 1583 to 1815 it belonged to the
Capuchins, who have again tenanted it since 1850. It contains
tine cloisters, a charming veranda and magnificent points of view.
A spacious grotto to the L, in front of the monastery, serves as
a Calvary, or series of devotional stations. Here the attendant
Capuchin (^2—1 L) usually offers the visitor a draught of wine
and takes his leave. The route to the monastery leads from the
market-place by a dark lane to the r. opposite the cathedral;
ascends a flight of steps partially covered; passing the insignifi¬
cant looking maccaroni - manufactory, then continues for a short
distance on the same level and finally ascends by steps to the
gate (if shut, visitors knock).
A cool and pleasant *walk may be taken in the narrow mill-
valley (Valle de' Molini), l'/j M. in length, containing 16 paper-
mills deriving their motive power from the brook, situated in the
rear of Amalfi (from the Piazza in a straight direction W. to a
gate-way, beyond which the valley is entered. The steps, which
ascend to the r. by the gate, lead to Scala, 2 hrs. walk, see
p. 155; guide necessary). On the r. rise lofty cliffs, the summit
•of which is crowned by the ruins of the Castello Pontone. The
single tower dates from the time of queen Johanna. — Five
villages appertain to Amalfi: Pogelora, Pastina, Lene, Vettica
Minore and Tovere, all situated to the W. of the town in a
district which produces an abundant supply of wine, oil and fruit.
The coast is overgrown with the aloe and cactus opuntia.
*Ravello, an ancient and celebrated town in a lofty situation, is the
most attractive point in the neighbourhood of Amalfi. Ascent 1r/1 hr., with
guide (2—31., p. 153; donkey 2 1.). The views are charming, and an op¬
portunity of inspecting the Moorish style of architecture is enjoyed. The
route is by- Atrani; thence a somewhat steep ascent by steps. The town,
which in the zenith of its prosperity possessed 13 churches, 4 monasteries,
numerous palaces and a population of 36,000, is now a mere village. The
traveller first reaches the "Cathedral, founded in the 11th cent., with
modernized interior. The bronze-doors, with numerous representations of
saints, date from 1179. The magnificent ,:'Ambo, in marble, decorated with
mosaics, was founded in 1272. It rests on 6 columns supported by lions.
Inscription: "Nicolaus de Fogia marmorarius hoc opus fecit". Opposite to
it is the pulpit, in a simpler style, with a representation of Jonah swallowed
by the whale. In the choir the episcopal throne, adorned with mosaics.
On the 1. the Cappella di S. Pantaleune, containing the blood of the saint.
In the Sacristy a Madonna by Andrea Sabattini of Salerno.
The "Palazzo Rufalo, now the property of an English gentleman, a
structure in the Saracenic style of the 12th cent., was once occupied by
Pope Adrian IV., King Charles II. and Robert the Wise. In the centre is
a small court with a colonnade, of apparently frail construction. A veranda
in the garden commands a delightful "prospect (fee 5—6 sous).