to Trieste. AQUILEIA. 48. Route. 353
is open daily, 9-12 and 2-4 (in summer, 8-6; adm. 40 h.; plan of
the city and excavations 1 K.). Director, Prof. H. Maionica.
The charming Museum Garden, with ita ancient aculpturea effectively
interspersed with its cedars, cypresses, and palms, recalla the Villa Albani
at Rome. — The Ground Floor contains the collection of sculptures. Room I.
Early-Chriatian monuments. R. II. Fine statues of Román emperors and
military monuments. R. III. Civic monumenta. R. IV. Figurea of the
gods. — On the Upper Floor are the smaller antiquities. R. V. Ancient
glass, aome very rare. R. VI. Objecta in metal. R. VH. Objecta of terra¬
cotta. R. VIII. Gems, jewela, coins, and works in amber.
The chief medioeval monument is the *Cathedral, a flat-roofed
basilica with aisles and transept, erected by Patriarch Poppo (1019-
42) on the site of an early-Christian church and consecrated in 1M31.
Destroyed by an earthquake in 1348, it was rebuilt by Patriarch
Marquard about 1379 in the Gothic style. The Renaissance additions
date from the Venetian period (ca. 1500). In 1845-46 it was restored.
Interior. In the left aiale is a small circular chapel, in marble (1031). —
The choir contains Renaissance stalls and an altar-piece by Pellegrino da
San Daniele, in a fine oíd frame, with the tutelars of Rome (SS. Peter and
Paul), Aquileia (SS. Hermagoras and Fortunatas), and Venice (SS. Mark
and Theodore). The frescoes in the apse, probably dating from the daya
of Poppo and Marquard, represent the Consecration of the church in the
presence of Emp. Conrad II. (above) and the Sufferinga of St. Hermagoraa
(below). — The walla of the crypt, which ia a relie of the original early
Christian church, are painted with oíd frescoes of varioua datea. Behind
a screen is an oíd reliquary. — The right transept contains remaina of
the choir-acreena of tbe earlier building and a column with a capital in
the Ravenna atyle. Adjacent ia the tomb of the patriarchs of the Milán
family of Della Torre (p. 127; 1273-1365).
The Narthex oí the cathedral and the octagonal Baptistery,
resembling the buildings of Ravenna, as well as the 'Chiesa dei
Pagani', which conneets them, are remains of early-Christian build¬
ings. — The lower part of the conspicuous Campanile, 240 ft. high,
is Romanesque (1031), the upper part dates from the 14th century.
The top commands a superb *View of the lagoons, the plain of the
Isonzo, and the distant Venetian and Julián Alps.
A pleasant excursión (one-horse carr. 2K.) may be made to the village
of Belvedere, lying 3 M. to the S., on the margin of the lagoons, and
possessing a fine pine-wood (pineta), extensive ¿unes, and fish-hatcheries.
Since 1902 a ship- canal has been under construction between Belvedere
* A steamer (80 and 50 h.) plies from Aquileia twice (in summer
four times) daily, on the Natissa Canal, then through the ramifying
cañáis of the lagoons, passing numerous fisheTmen's huts (casoni), to
Grado (Hót. Fontari, closed in winter; Alb. Cervo d'Oro; Posta,
fair; Hót. International; Pens. Fortino, R. at each 2-4, board QK.;
private lodgings; visitor's tax 3-6 K.; steamer to Trieste twice
daily, in winter only thrice weekly), a flshing-town (4000 inhab.),
pleasantly situated on a spit of land (lido) and recently much fre¬
quented as a bathing-resort by the people of Trieste. Excellent
beach (bath 60 ft.); marine hospital for children.
Grado, founded by refugees from Aquileia in 452 under the ñame of
Aquileia Nova or Gradus, joined the Venetian naval league (p. 242) in 697