260 Route 42. MANTUA. From Verona
several of the rooms destroyed by the Austrians in 1630, date from
the reigns of Maria Theresa and Joseph II. and from the time of
the viceroy Eugéne Beauharnais (p. 127).
A visit to tbe palace requires not less than 1 hr. The custodian is
to be found until the afternoon under the second large arched gateway
to the left (fee 1 fr.).
Ground Floor. The so-called Scalcheria, embelliahed with fine gro¬
tesques and frescoes (hunting-acenes with Diana, etc.), by Giulio Romano, is
now the solitary relie of the Appartamento della Grotta, prepared for
Isabella d'Este and once filled with art-treasurea.
The Upper Floor ia reached by means of a handsome staircase dating
from 1640. The Sala dei Ddchi is hung with portraits of all the Gon-
zagas. — The Appartamento dell' Imperatrice was altered under Maria
Theresa by Gius. Piermarini (p. 166). In the last room is the bed used by
Eugéne Beauharnais (1812). — The adjoining Sala dei Fiomi is einbellished.
with allegorical figures of the rivers near Mantua, by Giorgio Anselmi
(1775). In front of it is the new Giardino Pensile, or hanging garden. —
The Sala dello Zodiaco has ceiling-paintings of the signs of the zodiac,
by Lor. Costa the Younger; the mural decorations date from 1808. — The
Appartamento dell' Imperatore, altered for Joseph n. in 1783 by Paolo
Pozzo, has been tastefully decorated by the Mantuan artists, And. Mones
and G. B. Marconi. On some of the walls are painted copies (by Fel.
Campi) of the tapestry brought hither by Maria Theresa from the church
of Santa Barbara. The tapestry itself (copies of Raphael's tapestry in
the Vatican) is now in Vienna. Napoleón I. once slept in the first room. —
The Picture Gallery (Galleria dei Quadri) contains unimportant paintings
and two portrait-busts by Bernini. — The Appartamento Ducale, built bjAnt.
Viani under Vincenzo I. (1587-1612), is at present empty. — Tbe "Apparta¬
mento del Paradiso, consisting of the four little Camerini oí Isabella
d'Este, is interesting for its early-Renaissance decorations, still in tolerable
repair. We observe here particularly the intarsia, the beautiful reliefs
on the marble door, and the graceful coflered ceiling. The inotto of the
princess, 'nec spe nec metu', appears several times. The córner-room
commands a charming view of the now neglected garden and of the Lago
Inferiore. In the last room are some remains of the oíd frieze from the
Sala dello Zodiaco (see above). — The sumptuous Sala degli Specchi
(room of mirrors) is embellished with frescoes by pupils of Giulio Romano. —
We now pass through the Appartamento di Troia, some of the richly
decorated rooms of which are in sad disrepair: Sala di Manto, formerly
a banquet-room; Sala del Giuramento, with a (restored) fresco of Luigi
Gonzaga (p. 257) receiving the allegiance of tbe people; Sal;, dei Cimieri,
with charming stucco ornaaientation by Fr. Primaticcio and a view of
the Castello di Corte, Ponte San Giorgio, Lago Inferiore, and Lago di
Mezzo; Snla del Trionfo di Giulio Cesare, so called from the series of
nine paintings by Andrea Mantegna, now at Hampton Court; two rooms
with elegant grotesques (adjoined by a loggia and the oíd hangiug garden);
Stanza del Giove, with a ceiling-painting by Giulio Romano; Sala di Troia,
with frescoes by Giulio Romano (poorly restored in 1846); and "Sala dei
Marmi, tastefully decorated in tbe style of the ancient tbermse. — The
Gallería della Mostra, at one time occupied by the natural history
museum, retains traces of its oíd ceiling-painting by Giulio Romano. ít
overlooks the Cavallerizza, or tournament-yard, with its twisted columns.
also designed by Giulio Romano. — We are flnally conducted to the Dwarfs'
Apartments (Appartamento dei Nani), adapted to the size of their inmates.
— The Salone dell' Armería, the meeting-place of the council of Man¬
tua convened by Pius II. in 1459, and afterwards an armoury, is not
The vaulted passage near the N.E. end of the Piazza Sordello
leads to the right to the Piazza Castello, in which rises the Castello
di Corte (Pl. D. 2J. the oíd castle of the Gonzagas, built in 1395-