220 Route 38. BRESCIA. Duomo.
was Giov. Batt. Moroni (ca. 1520-77), one of the best portrait-painters of
the Renaiasance. Another eminent master of Brescia, a contemporary of
Bonvicino, was Girol. Romanino (1485-1566); his best worka are to be seen
in San Francesco (p. 225), San Giov. Evangelista (p. 224), and at Padua. —
Brescia also contains several interesting antiquities (p. 221).
The centre of the town is the picturesque Piazza del Comunb
(formerly Piazza Vecchia), in which rises the ^Municipio (Pl. 14;
B, C, 2), usually called La Loggia, begun in the early-Renaissance
style by Tomm. Fromentone of Vicenza in 1492, but unflnished
until Jacopo Sansovino completed the upper part in 1554-74. The
window-mouldings are by Palladio (1550). The large saloon on the
upper story and the lofty vaulted roof were destroyed by a flre in
1575. The exterior of this magniflcent structure is almost overladen
with ornamentation, including a series of emperors' heads by Tamag-
nino and others ; and a charming 'putto' frieze by Sansovino (1558).
On the groundfloor is a deep colonnade; in front are pillars and
pilasters. The upper floor recedes considerably. The octagonal ad¬
dition on the top is due to L. Vanvitelli (1769-73). — The handsome
adjacent building on the right, the Archivio e Camera Notarile(Pl. 1),
is probably also by Fromentone.
On the opposite (E.) side of the Piazza, above an arcade, rises
the Torre dell' Orologio, or clock-tower, with a large dial (1 to 24).
The bell is struck by two iron figures as at Venice (p. 297). —
To the left rises a Monument, erected to the Brescians who fell
in 1849. — The S. side of the piazza is occupied by the Monte di
Pieta, a plain Renaissance building begun in 1484; the E. half, with
a handsome loggia, was erected in 1597 by Pier Maria Bagnadore.
To the S.E. of the Piazza del Coraune is the *Duomo Nuovo
(Pl. C, 3), a handsome church begun in 1G04 by Giov. Batt. Lantana
(but the dome, 270 ft. high, not completed till 1825). It is in the
form of a Greek cross, with a lengthened choir.
Interior. By the first pillar on the right is the large monument of
Bishop Nava (d. 1831), by Monti; by the first pillar on the left, the mon¬
ument of Bishop Ferrari (d. 1846). By the third altar on the right ia a
sarcophagus with small reliefs (1510), containing tbe 'Corpora D. D. Apol-
lonii et Philastri', transferred hither in 1674 from the crypt of the oíd
cathedral. — High-altar-piece, an Assumption by Zoboli, designed by Seb.
Conca (18th cent.).
From a door between the 2nd and 3rd altars 25 steps descend
to theDuomoVecchio(Pl.C, 3), generally called LaRotonda (shown
by the sacristán of the Duomo Nuovo). This massive dome-struc-
ture (of the lOth cent. ?) is circular, as its ñame imports, with an
ambulatory, and rests on eight short pillars in the interior. Beneath
is the crypt, or Basílica di San Filastro (now lighted by electricity),
supported by 42 columns. This represents an early - Christian
basílica, the ground-plan of which was probably followed in the
curious oíd addition on the E. side of the church, consisting of a
transept and choir with lateral chapéis.
On the W. side of the above-mentioned ambulatory is the tomb of
Bishop Maggi IA 150SI hv TTaa da Camoione(l). — Altar-piece in the added