to Ventimiglia. SAN REMO. 19. Route. 99
the central point of the great earthquake of February, 1887, but has
sinoe then been largely rebuilt (2000 inhab.). To the right, inland,
is Diano Castello. — The train passes by a tunnel under the Capo
Berta (880 ft.), on which stands a ruined tower. In clear weather
the view from the cape (% hr.'s walk from Oneglia) extends east-
wards to the Riviera di Levante.
6872 M. Oneglia (Rail. Restaurant; Grand-Hótel Oneglia, pens.
6-8 fr.; Hót. Victoria; Alb. del Vapore; Hotel Suisse; ómnibus to
Porto Maurizio, 20 c), wjth 8300 inhab. and a shallow harbour,
carries on a busy trade in olive-oil. Near the station is a cellular
prison. Oneglia was the birth-place of Andrea Doria (p. 79) and
of Edmondo de Amicis (1846), the writer. From 1298 to 1576 it
was in the possession of the Genoese family of the Dorias; after¬
wards in that of the dukes of Savoy. To the N. appear the snow-
clad peaks of the Ligurian Alps.
From Oneglia to Ormea, viá the Col di Nava, see p. 50.
The train crosses the broad and stony bed of the Impero. — 70 M.
Porto Maurizio (Hotel de France, at the station; Commercio, in the
town), with 6800 inhab. and a small harbour, is most picturesquely
situated on a promontory. Olive-oil is the staple commodity. Porto
Maurizio has a fine domed church by Simone Cantoni (1799) and a
charming Giardino Pubblico;
The scenery now hecomes less picturesque. — 73 M. San
Lorenzo al Mare; 77i/2 M. Santo Stefano-Riva Ligure. — The train
crosses the Argentina or Fiumara di Taggia, beyond which is
(7972 M.) Taggia, which is the station also for the fishing-village
of Arma. A road leads from Arma to (3 M.) Bussana Vecchia,
romantically perched on a hill (670 ft.). The ruins of this village,
which was completely destroyed by the earthquake of 1887, are
worth visiting (key of the ruined church at Bussana Nuova, ll/2 M.
The picturesque little town of Taggia (Alb. d'Italia; omn. from San
Remo, p. 101) lies 2 M. up the valley of the river. Giov. Dom. Ruffini
(1807-81), poet and patriot, lived here from 1875 till his death. The town
contains several oíd patrician mansions, and in the church of the Dominican
convent are paintings of the early Genoese school.
Beyond a short tunnel we obtain a view (on the right) oí Bussana
Vecchia and Bussana Nuova and of Poggio (p. 103). Then a tunnel
under the Capo Verde.
84 M. San Kemo. — The Railway Station (Pl. C, 4; Restaurant) lies
on the W. bay, a few hundred yards beyond the new town.
Hotels & Pensions. The better houses have electric light; nearly all
have gardens. On the W. Bay, in an open situation, preferred by English
visitors: «West End Hotel (Pl. g; A, 4), Corso Matuzia. R. from 372,
B. 172, dej. 4-5, D. 6-8, bath 3, pens. 107ü-2072, omn. 2 fr.; «Gr. Hot!
Royal (Pl. e; B, 4), Corso dell' Imperatrice, R. from 4i/2, B. U/s, déj. 4,
5- hrní U:18 fr;; Gkand Hotel(P1- b-, B, 4), Corso dell' Imperatrice
?¿, 10' ?• .1/2< déJ- 4"5> D- 68> Pens- 1018 ^.; Continental Palace
^■'}i A> Ah Corso Matuzia, cióse to the sea, R. 3-7, B. li/2, déj. 372-41/2,
L>. 0-7, pens. 10-15, omn. 172 fr.; HÓt. Imperial Kaiserhof (Pl. h; A, 4),