58 Route 12. AOSTA. From Turin
two ancient columns in front of a chapel. In the same piazza is
the picturesque Priory of St. Ours (15th cent.), with terracotta
ornamentation and an octagonal tower. The interior contains good
wood-carvings and frescoes.
The Amphitheatre, destroyed all but a few arcades, in the oíd
Convento di Santa Caterina, is reached from the Borgo Sant' Orso
by the new street beside the Tour des Prisons or Tour du Bailliage
(12-14th cent.), the N.E. comer of the town-wall, or by the Vicolo
del Bailliage, leading to the N. from the Porta Praetoria. Cióse by,
in the Via del Teatro, is the Román Theatre, of which only the S.
wall (70 ft. high) is now standing.
The Cathedral, in the N. part of the town, owes its present
form to the 14th century. Above the portal is a painted terracotta
relief; in the choir, two mosaic pavements of 1429 and Gothic
stalls of the 15th century. The treasury contains two shrines of the
13th and 15th cent. (SS. Gratus and Jucundns), a carneo of a Román
empress in a setting of the 13th cent., and an ivory diptych of the
Cónsul Probus (406) with a representation of the Emp. Honorius.
The cloisters date from 1460. — In the Accademia di Sant' Anselmo,
cióse by, are Celtic and Román antiquities.
By the S. town-gate (the ancient Porta Principalis Dextra, re-
contly freed from encroaching buildings) rises the Torre Bramafam
(12th cent.?), a relie of a castle of the Counts of Challant. It contains
an inscription dedicated to Augustus by the Salassi. — By the W.
wall is the mediaeval Torre del Lebbroso, or Tour du Lépreux, de-
scribed in Xavier Le Maistre's story, in which a leper named Guaseo
(d. 1803) and his sister Angélica (d. 1791) dragged out their mis¬
erable existence. — Numerous crétins will be seen in Aosta.
The * Becca di Nona (10,305 ft.), rising to the S. of Aosta, commands
a superb view of the Alps. Ascent 6-7 hrs., with guide (16 fr.); provisions
should be taken. A bridle-path leads to the village of Charvensod (2445 ft.;
guide, Grégoire Come) and thence via the hermitage of St. Grat (5815 ft.)
to the Col de Plan Fenétre (7300 ft.) and the (41/2 hrs.) Alp Comboe (6960 ft.;
night-quarters). The Signal Sismonda (7700 ft.), 1/2 hr. above (S.) the Col
de Plan Fenétre, commands a fine view of the Rutor and the Pennine Alps.
From the Alp Comboe a good zigzag path ascends in 21/2 hrs. to the top
of the Becca di Nona (a few yarda below it is the Rifugio Budden of the
Italian Alpine Club). — The Mont Emilius (11,677 ft.) may be ascended
from Comboe in 41/2 hra. (fatiguing; for adepta only; guide 30 fr.). The
view is still more extensive than that from the Becca di Nona.
From Aosta over the Great St. Bernard to Marligny, see Baedeker's
The Road to Courmayeur (omn., see p. 54) ascends the broad
and shadeless valley of the Dora Baltea, passing the handsome royal
cháteau of Sarre (1968 ft.), built in 1710; opposite is Aymaville
(2120 ft.), with a cháteau with four towers (14th cent.), at the
mouth of the Val de Cogne (p. 61). Beyond St. Pierre (2170 ft.),
with its church and picturesque cháteau (14th cent.; partly restored),
we continué, enjoying a fine view of the Rutor and Grivola, and near
the oíd tower of Colin (llth cent.?) cross the Dora to —