54 Route 8. LAIBACH. From Vienna
224 M. Cilli (787 ft. ; *Erzherzog Johann; Kaiserkrone; Lowe),
an ancient town of some importance, founded by Emp. Claudius
(Claudia Celleia), contains several Roman reliefs and memorial slabs
on the town-walls. On a wooded height in the vicinity stands the
ruined castle of Obercilli.
The train crosses the green Sann, and enters the narrow and
wooded valley of that stream. The most picturesque part of the
whole line is between Cilli and Sava. 22972 M. Markt Tuffer,
with a ruined castle. 234 M. Rbmerbad (which memorial stones
prove to have been known to the Romans), also called Teplitza(i. e.
'warm bath'), a beautifully situated watering-place.
240 M. Steinbruck (*Rail. Restaurant; 25 min. allowed for
express passengers to dine in going to Vienna), a thriving village
on the Save, or Sou, which here unites with the Sann, is the
junction for the line to Agram and Karlstadt. The train now runs
for 1 hr. in the narrow valley of the Save, enclosed by lofty lime¬
stone cliffs, which often barely afford space for the river and rail¬
way. 245 M. Hrastnigg ; 247 M. Trifail, with valuable coal-mines;
250 M. Sagor, the first place in Carniola; 254 M. Sava.
The valley now expands. At Littai the Save is crossed. Scen¬
ery still very picturesque. Stations Kressnitz, Loose. At the
influx of the Laibach into the Save , the line quits the latter and
enters the valley of the former. The lofty mountain-range to the
N.W. is that of the Julian or Carnian Alps. 274 M. Salloch.
278 M. Laibach (940 ft.; *Stadt Wien; *Elephant; Europa; *Rail.
Restaurant), Slav. Ljubljana, on the Laibach, the capital of Car¬
niola, with 26,300 inhab. , is situated in an extensive plain en¬
closed by mountains of various heights. An old Castle, now used
as a prison, rises above the town. The Cathedral, in the Italian
style, is decorated with stucco and frescoes of the 18th century.
The line now traverses the marshy Laibacher Moos by means
of an embankment, 13/4 M. in length, and crosses the Laibach,
which becomes navigable here, although hardly 3 M. below the
point where it issues from the rocks near Oberlaibach. Near
(292 M.) Franzdorf the line crosses a lofty viaduct, and enters a
more mountainous district. — 302 M. Loitsch (1555 ft.; Post or Stadt
Triest). About 15 M; to the N.W. of Loitsch are the rich quicksilver
mines of Idria. — 308 M. Ralcek, 3^/2 M. to the S.E. of which is
the Zirknitzer See, enclosed by lofty mountains. 318 M. Adelsberg
(1798 ft. ; Adelsberger Hof; Krone), Slav. Post6jno.
The celebrated 'Stalactite Caverns, known in the middle ages and
accidentally re-discovered in 1816, are 3/4 M. to the W. of Adelsberg The
fees are fixed by tariff, and are somewhat high for a single visitor (from
3 fl. to 21 fl., according to the illumination), but less when shared bv a
party. Brilliant illumination is necessary in order to produce a satisfactorv
effect. A visit to the grotto occupies 272-3 hrs., or if prolonged to the
Belvedere 4 hrs. Temperature 48° Fahr. Entrance 1 M. fr0m the Nation
Fuller particulars, see Baedeker's Eastern Alps.
The train now traverses a dreary, inhospitable plain strewn