to Trieste. MARBURG. 8. Route. 53
fortifications have recently been removed, and their site is now
occupied by the handsome Ringstrasse and the Stadtpark.
The *Schlossberg, which rises about 400 ft. above the river, commands
one of the finest *Views in Austria, embracing the course of the Mur and
the populous valley, enclosed by picturesque mountains. On the S. side
of the hill rises the handsome Clock-Tower, and in front of the Swiss
house the Statue of Fieldmarshal Baron v. Welden (d. 1853), in bronze, by
Gasser. — The Gothic Cathedral dates from 1446. In front of the Landes-
Theater rises a bronze Statue of Emperor Francis I., designed by Marchesi;
in front of the Stadthaus is a Statue of Archduke John, by Ponninger.
Comp. Baedeker's Eastern Alps.
The train proceeds through the broad valley of the Mur, at
some distance from the river. 144 M. Puntigam; on the hills to
the right rises the castle of Premstetten; on the left, beyond (148 M.)
Kalsdorf, the castle of Weisseneck. Near (155 M.) Wildon the
Kainach is crossed by a wooden bridge; on the height above rise
the ruins of Ober-Wildon; to the right are the vine-clad Sausal
Hills. 159 M. Lebring. To the right, near (16272 M.) Leibnitz, is
the archiepiscopal chateau of Seckau; farther on, the castle of
Labeck to the left. The train next crosses the Sulm by an iron chain-
bridge and approaches the Mur. 16772 M. Ehrenhausen, with the
chateau of the same name, and the mausoleum of the princes of
Eggenberg on a wooded height to the right. 170 M. Spielfeld,
with a handsome chateau of Count Attems.
The line quits the Mur and enters the mountainous district
which separates the Mur from the Drave. On the watershed a
tunnel, 700 yds. in length, and near (177 M.) Pbssnitz a viaduct
of equal length are traversed.
182 M. Marburg (880 ft. ; *Stadt Wien; *Stadt Meran; Erzherzog
Johann ; Mohr; *Rail. Restaurant) is an important town with 17,700
inhab., picturesquely situated on the Drave, and the junction of the
lines to Villach and Franzensfeste. To the S.W. extends the long vine
and forest-clad Bacher- Gebirge. A pleasing view is obtained from
the train as it crosses the Drave ; on the right bank are the extensive
locomotive works of the S. Railway. Traversing a broad plain, with
the slopes of the Bacher Mts. on the right, we next reach (188 M.)
Kranichsfeld, with an old chateau, and (1937a M.) Pragerhof, the
junction for the line to Kanizsa and Pesth. The train now enters a
region of lower hills. Beyond (198 M.) Windisch-Feistritz it tra¬
verses two tunnels. 203 M. Pbltschach, at the foot of the Wotsch
(3218 ft.), on the N. slope of which are situated the picturesque
ruins of the Carthusian monastery of Seitz.
The German language is now replaced by a Slavonic or Wend
dialect. The train winds through a sparsely peopled district. The
valleys are generally narrow and picturesque, the mountains richly
wooded, with occasional vineyards and fields of maize. Several
small stations and foundries are passed, and an extensive view of
the Sannthal, a populous and undulating plain , bounded by the
Sulzbach Alps, is at length suddenly disclosed.